ASCAP announces board of director election results

ASCAP logo canvasASCAP’s board of directors has completed its officer election and announced its new set of leaders. Paul Williams was elected to a fourth term as the organization’s chairman and president. Paul Williams has a history as an activist in Washington, participating in the House of Representatives’ Judiciary Committee hearings about music licensing regulations in 2014, and more recently throwing his weight behind the new Songwriter Equity Act.

Irwin Z. Robinson, vice president of industry affairs for Cromwell Music, was re-elected as publisher vice chairman. Doug Wood, who produces music for television programs and commercials, was a first-time electee and will serve as writer vice chairman. The board added a new publisher member in the form of Jody Gerson, who is also chairman and CEO of Universal Music Publishing Group.

ASCAP also had some executive shuffles recently, including the appointment of a new EVP for strategy and development. It also kicked off 2015 with Elizabeth Matthews’ promotion to CEO following John LoFrumento’s retirement.

Anna Washenko