iHeartMedia to host a podcast awards show

iHeartMedia announced that it will host a new live event to recognize listers’ favorite podcasts. The iHeartRadio Podcast Awards are scheduled to take place in Los Angeles on January 18. Winners for 17 of the 22 categories will be chosen by listeners and voting begins today. A panel of judges will choose the winners for the top awards, including podcast of the year. Nominees for that honor are Atlanta Monster, Dirty John, Hardcore History, Joe Rogan, Radiolab, Serial, Slow Burn, Stuff You Should Know, The Daily and The Habitat. The co-hosts of the event are Charlamagne tha God of The Breakfast Club, Holly Frey of Stuff You Missed in History Class, and country radio personality Bobby Bones.

“Podcasting has roared onto the audio scene, creating the most excitement since the advent of streaming music services,” said Conal Byrne, president of iHeartMedia’s podcasting division following the acquisition of HowStuffWorks. “The iHeartRadio Podcast Awards will provide a forum to celebrate the high-caliber, creative content that has made podcasting a major new audio category — and that truly reflects America’s favorite podcasts, voted by the listeners themselves. We look forward to hosting this transformative, annual event and encouraging everyone in the podcasting industry to push the envelope and inspire even more creators in this space.”

“The podcasting space is on fire and we are excited to recognize its leaders, as decided by the fans and a panel of industry creatives and experts,” iHeartMedia Chairman and CEO Bob Pittman said. “We are delighted to use our expertise with events and awards shows to build the first major industry awards show for podcasts, to use our unparalleled size and scale to promote and market the event — and to include these great companies and luminaries in the celebration.”

Anna Washenko