Submit your service, station, or program now for the 7th Annual RAIN Awards

awards 2016 big clean bg

When is the right time to submit your station, service, or program for consideration in the 7th Annual RAIN Internet Radio Awards? Now! Scroll down to see which category is best for your brand.

In 2016 the RAIN Internet Radio Awards celebrate their 7th year as the most prestigious celebration of excellence in the online audio industry. Open submissions are accepted in a process which culminates in the Awards Ceremony at RAIN Summit Nashville on September 20 — always a highlight of the fall conference.

CLICK HERE to submit directly to the Awards.

CLICK HERE to see last year’s winners.

There is no charge. The RAIN Awards accept self-nominations, inviting the owners and operators of streaming audio brands, and podcasters, to enter their streams, sites, services, and platforms for consideration.  Winners are determined by a panel of unaffiliated expert judges, who review and grade submitted services. Finalists and winners will be announced at RAIN Summit Nashville on September 20, with winners receiving commemorative plaques and year-long bragging rights.

Don’t wait!

Submissions are accepted in these categories:

Best Single-Stream Webcaster

This category celebrates the best online only (“pureplay”) webcaster with a single stream of radio content. The landscape for single-stream U.S. webcasters has dramatically changed in 2016, the first year of new royalty rates established by the Copyright Royalty Board. Some small webcasters have ended their stations, but many others remain. RAIN continues to honor the rich musical diversity that independent webcasters add to the listening environment.

Best Streaming Broadcast Station

For the single broadcast station that has executed the best streaming strategy. Judges may consider ways that the station has extended and enhanced its brand through the use of online streaming. Only broadcast stations that stream online are eligible.

Best Podcast

For the best spoken word on-demand audio series. The program must originate online, as opposed to a show created for  broadcast radio and archived online — e.g. Serial is eligible, but This American Life is not. Judges may consider originality, production quality, entertainment value, longevity, and presentation.

Best Overall Digital Strategy

For the broadcast station, broadcast group, or online-only webcaster that has implemented the finest overall digital strategy. Judges may consider mobile, streaming, websites, downloads, video and/or other features. “Online only” services, broadcasters, and streaming broadcast stations are eligible.

Best Multi-station Radio Platform

New in 2016, this category is for the website and/or app which provides the best radio aggregation service. Eligible brands should provide a broad tuning experience that includes AM/FM stations, online-only “pureplay” stations, or both. This category celebrates station aggregation as a service — submitted services may also include user-created stations, podcasts, and other listening experiences, but are judged only on criteria related to presenting an array of branded linear stations.

Best Audio Startup

This new category is for EARLY-STAGE startup services related to audio streaming. Eligible submissions include music discovery apps, social audio platforms, podcast innovations, or any new venture related to streaming audio. This category is intended to expose new innovations; definition of “early stage” and determination of eligibility belong solely to RAIN.

Best Overall Online Radio Service

For the station/webcaster that provides the best overall online listener experience. Judges may consider programming, technology, popularity of the service, attractiveness of the app (web/mobile), ease of use, operational sustainability, integration of advertising assets (if applicable), and other criteria. Nominated services may be single-channel and multichannel “online only” operations or streaming broadcast stations.

CLICK HERE for direct submitting of your site or service. It’s free.

Brad Hill