iHeartPodcast Awards returns with SXSW partnership

The iHeartPodcast Awards, formerly held independently in a Los Angeles performance venue, and simulcast online, will return on March 11 at the Fairmont Hotel in Austin. The event is revived via a partnership with the SXSW Conference and Festivals.

The evening event will honor the best and most innovative industry podcasts and creators of 2023. The ceremony will broadcast live on select iHeartMedia Radio Stations nationwide, through the iHeartRadio app and via a video stream in partnership with YouTube on iHeartRadio’s YouTube Channel. The event will additionally be available on demand following the initial live stream.

iHeart describes the judges as “blue-ribbon podcast industry leaders, creatives, and visionaries. Categories will include comedy, crime, news, pop culture, sports, food, business and more. As in previous incarnations, this year’s Awards will include a Podcast of the Year. That award will be partially determined by fan voting.

Also to be featured: Icon Awards, which will pay tribute to creators, organizations and podcasts that have made groundbreaking industry contributions.

While presenters are not yet announced, it’s worth noting the roster of celebrities who have participated in past presentations: Jason Bateman, Sean Hayes, Will Arnett, Dua Lipa, Martha Stewart, Questlove, Mayim Bialik, Will Ferrell, Malcolm Gladwell, Draymond Green, Bethenny Frankel, Conan O’Brien, and Angela Yee.



Brad Hill